YVR Art Foundation Announces 2016 Scholarship Winners. Nine B.C. & Yukon First Nations artists recognized for creative excellence

YVR Art Foundation (YVRAF) today announced the nine B.C. & Yukon First Nations artists who will each be awarded $5,000 for their creative excellence and commitment to further develop their art practice. The winners will be recognized at the annual YVRAF Awards Reception held at Vancouver International Airport (YVR). The reception will also include the unveiling of the 2015 scholarship recipients’ art works which will be exhibited at YVR for one year.

Congratulations to the 2016 YVR Art Foundation Scholarship Recipients!


The winners of the 2016 YVR Art Foundation Youth Artist scholarships are:

• Jay Bellis, Haida/Kootenae
• Violet Gatensby, Tlingit
• Jamie Nole, Tahltan/Nisga'a
• Erik Prytula, Haida
• Clayton Ses Saunders, Nuxalk
• Teresa Vander Meer-Chasse, White River First Nation
• Asia Youngman, Cree/Carrier/Iroquois

The 2016 Mid-Career Artist Scholarship recipients are:

• Corey Moraes, Tsimshian
• Lou-ann Neel, Kwakwaka'wakw


For more information see the full press release HERE